WEB DESIGN RESOURCES - SPRING 2017 - David P. Earle, Instructor

 

 

Getting Started

 

 

      Download Creative Cloud   http://www.adobe.com/creativecloud.html

 

      Download Muse   http://www.adobe.com/products/muse.html

 

      System Requirements   https://helpx.adobe.com/muse/system-requirements.html

 

      Muse FAQs   https://helpx.adobe.com/muse/faq.html

 

      Find A Web Host

 

          Business Catalyst (ideal web host for Muse but not required)   http://www.businesscatalyst.com

 

          Other options   http://reviewsignal.com/webhosting

 

      Choose A Domain Name

 

         Domain Name Basics   http://firstsiteguide.com/choose-domain/

 

         Tools: http://mashable.com/2013/11/17/domain-name-research-tools/#FLgUaapuT8q3

 

      Glossary   http://webdesign.about.com/od/webdesignhtmlatoz/a/blglossary.htm

 

 

Sample Websites

 

 

Professional Portfolio / Artist's Sites

 

      Katy Fischer   http://www.katyfischer.com

 

      Lucky Dragons   http://www.luckydragons.org

 

      Tauba Auerbach   http://taubaauerbach.com

 

      Lauren Wickware   http://laurenwickware.com/#/

 

      Margot Bowman  http://margotbowman.com

 

      James Day Photography   http://www.jamesdayphoto.com

 

 

Boutique Small Business and Services

 

      Chaparral-Studio   http://chaparral-studio.com

 

      Poketo   http://www.poketo.com

 

      The Line Hotel Los Angeles   https://www.thelinehotel.com/los-angeles/

 

      Russ & Daughters   http://www.russanddaughters.com

 

 

Special Projects

 

      Let's Travel Somewhere   http://www.letstravelsomewhere.com

 

      Highway One   http://www.exsus.com/highway-one-roadtrip

 

      Humans of New York   http://www.humansofnewyork.com

 

 

Problematic Websites (enter at your own risk!)

 

      Burger Bar   http://www.burger-bar.com

 

      Articulum General Store   http://www.articulumgeneralstore.com

 

 

Color Scheme Tools

 

 

      Adobe Kuler   https://kuler.adobe.com

 

      Colourco.de   http://colourco.de

 

      Paletton   http://paletton.com

 

      The Psychology of Color   https://careyjolliffe.files.wordpress.com/2013/02/cjga-color-theory-3.jpg

 

      Material Design   https://material.google.com/style/color.html#

 

 

Image Resources

 

 

      Subtle Patterns   http://subtlepatterns.com

 

      Wikimedia Commons   https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/Main_Page

 

      Flickr   https://www.flickr.com/search/advanced/

 

      Pixabay   http://www.freedigitalphotos.net

 

      From Old Books   http://www.fromoldbooks.org

 

 

Widgets and Other Plug-Ins

 

 

      Widgets designed by Adobe   http://resources.muse.adobe.com/collections/widgets

 

      Muse Resources   http://museresources.com/mulibs.html

 

      Muse Themes   http://www.muse-themes.com/collections/adobe-muse-widgets

 

 

Text Tools

 

 

      Lorem Ipsum   http://www.lipsum.com

 

      What The Font? http://www.myfonts.com

 

      Type Terms   http://www.supremo.tv/typeterms

 

      Type Connection   typeconnection.com

 

 

Examples of Parallax Scrolling

 

 

      Scroll Effects   http://www.scrolleffects.com/index.html

 

      Pitchfork / Cover Story   http://pitchfork.com/features/cover-story/

 

      PUTPUT   http://putput.dk/projects

 

 

Search Engine Optimization (SEO)

 

 

      Google SEO starter guide   http://benedict.co.uk/search-engine-optimization-starter-guide.pdf


      Google's Webmaster Guidlines   https://support.google.com/webmasters/answer/35769?hl=en

 
      Google's Webmaster Help Page   https://www.google.com/webmasters

 

      Google's Blog for Webmasters   https://webmasters.googleblog.com

 

      Image Optimization   https://www.shopify.com/blog/7412852-10-must-know-image-optimization-tips

 

      Image Optimization in depth:

           https://developers.google.com/web/fundamentals/performance/optimizing-content-efficiency/image-optimization?csw=1

 

 

On Design

 

 

      Appearance, Usability and Search Engine Visibility in Web Design by Christopher Heng

         http://www.thesitewizard.com/webdesign/usabilitysearchengine.shtml

 

      Flat Design Vs. Realism   http://www.flatvsrealism.com

 

      Aaron Lawrence Design   http://www.aaronlawrencedesign.com

 

      How We Read by Jason Santa Maria   http://alistapart.com/article/how-we-read

 

 

Design Inspiration

 

 

      Designspiration   http://designspiration.net

 

      Dribble   https://dribbble.com

 

      awwwards   https://www.awwwards.com

 

      Muse Site of the Day   https://musewidgets.com/collections/site-of-the-day

 

      Pinterest   https://www.pinterest.com